Gluten Free Bechamel Sauce Recipe (Basic Gluten Free White Sauce)

One can use this gluten free bachamel sauce (pronounced “bay shuh mel) as a base for any white cream sauce. You may add spices, or puree in roasted red peppers, and more. Often times, when using potato starch to thicken sauces it tends to thin when reheated. I used tapioca starch in my recipe. What will you use? Be creative! Make a chili bechamel and stuff some crepes with ground beef and sauteed onion and peppers.

Ad

Gluten Free Bechamel Sauce Recipe (Basic Gluten Free White Sauce)

Rating: 51

Yield: 1 1/4 cups

Gluten Free Bechamel Sauce Recipe (Basic Gluten Free White Sauce)

A gluten free bechamel sauce that will turn heads when they're told it's gluten free. Perfect when using Namaste Perfect Flour Blend!

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter
  • 1 Tablespoon tapioca, potato or corn starch (or your favorite all-purpose GF flour*)
  • 1 cup milk (I used non-fat.)
  • Salt or sweeten, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Melt butter in skillet on medium high. Do not allow to burn.
  2. Whisk in starch/flour.
  3. Slowly pour in milk while whisking constantly.
  4. Cook and continue to whisk until it thickens. If it gets too thick, add more milk; if it too watery, mix a little cold water or milk with some flour/starch and pour in, stir until thickened.

Tips

UPDATE: The photo represents the use of tapioca starch, but I've found Namaste Perfect Flour Blend to work much better, and provide a better color and texture.

http://glutenfreerecipebox.com/gluten-free-bechamel-sauce-recipe-basic-gluten-free-white-sauce/

Visit Carla’s Gluten Free Online Store. In collaboration with Massachusetts General Hospital, 50% of all proceeds are donated to their Center for Celiac Research and Treatment.

This entry was posted in Corn-Free, Easy, Gluten Free Recipes, Gluten-Free Yeast-Free Recipes, Nut-Free, Refined Sugar-Free, Sauces, Soy-Free, Sugar-Free. Bookmark this blog post.

8 Responses to Gluten Free Bechamel Sauce Recipe (Basic Gluten Free White Sauce)

  1. Moira Sutherland says:

    Thanks for all the info. Is arrowroot gluten free?

    • Moira,

      Arrowroot is gluten free. If you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease check with the manufacturer about their procedures on how they prevent cross-contamination of gluten. More importantly, do they test for cross-contamination.

      Carla

  2. Harriet says:

    Hi Carla
    I want to use this for a veggie lasagna. Not sure this will be enough. How would I increase it?
    Also, if you had to pick arrowroot, potato or tapioca, which would you use?
    Thx
    Harriet

  3. Garmonbozia says:

    I love bechamel sauce because it is so versatile. When I make mine, I always like to add a bit of nutmeg and/or a tiny bit of broth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>