Is Nestle Gluten Free?

I contacted Nestle a couple of weeks ago to find out which of the candies are gluten free. They mailed me an entire list of Nestle’s gluten free products, but it was not updated since December 22, 2011. Today, October 30, 2012, I called them regarding a product that was not listed in their list below (Natural Dark Chocolate Morsels – chips). I was told the list was sent out in error, as they no longer claim anything to be gluten free, as they do not test for gluten. The products listed below are considered to be made without gluten ingredients and are not made on equipment that processes gluten (wheat, rye, barley or oats). It was nice of them to include oats, as not all manufacturers do. However, because they do not test for gluten, they will not make any gluten free claims.

Image: Nestle's Gluten Free Products

Nestle® urges you to ALWAYS read product labels for current allergen information.

The list below, that I was sent is current as of 12/22/2011, but per Nestle’s, may change subsequent to formula revision and product information. Please read all product labels for current product information.

PLEASE READ ALL OF THE ABOVE BEFORE DETERMINING WHETHER ANY OF THESE ITEMS ARE SAFE FOR YOU TO CONSUME, ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE GLUTEN INTOLERANT.

Ad

NESTLE GLUTEN FREE PRODUCT LIST

Confection:

Nestle Baby Ruth®

Nestle Bit-O-Honey®

Nestle Butterfinger® Bars: (not including: BF Crisp, BF Giant Bar, BF Snackerz, BF Medallions, BF Jingles, BF Hearts, BF pumpkins)

Nestle® Milk Chocolate

Nestle® Goobers®

Nestle® Nips®

Nestle® Oh Henry®

Nestle® Raisinets®: Cranberry Raisinets, Dark Chocolate Raisinets, Raisinets

Nestle® Sno-Caps®

Wonka® Products:

Wonka Pixy Stix®

Wonka Laffy Taffy® and Laffy Taffy Rope

Woka Lik-M-Aid® Fun Dip®

Coffees and Teas:

Mountain BlendTM Instant Coffee

Nescafe® Classic Instant Coffee Nescafe

Taster Choice Instant Coffee: Flavored and Non-Flavored

Nestea®

Nestea Stick Packs (all flavors: citrus, lemonade, mixed berry, peach and tangerine

Coffee-mateTM

Nestle Coffee-mate Liquid: Flavored and Non-Flavored

Neslte Coffee-mate Powder: Flavored and Non-Flavored

Nesquik®:

Nestle Nesquik Ready-To-Drink Milk: All Flavors

Nestle Nesquik syrup: All Flavors

Juices:

Neslte Juicy Juice®: All Flavors

Energy Drinks:

Nestle Jamba All natural Energy Drinks

Baking;

Libby’s® 100% Pure Pumpkin

Libby’s Easy Pumpkin Pie Mix

Neslte Toll House:

Semi-Sweet Morsels

Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks

Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Morsels

Milk Chocolate Morsels

Premier White Morsels

Peanut Butter & Milk Chocolate Morsels

Milk Chocolate & Peanut Butter Swirled Morsels

Semi-Sweet Chocolate & Premier White Swirled Morsels

Note: Being that the Natural Dark Chocolate Morsels were not on the list, I called Nestle again. They stated that they did not contain gluten ingredients and were not made on equipment that processed gluten products.

Nestle Carnation® Milk:

Carnation Evaporated Milk

Carnation Low Fat Evaporated Milk

Carnation Fat Free Evaporated Milk

Carnation Sweetened Condensed Milk

Carnation Instant Nonfat Dry Milk

If you have any questions regarding whether a product of Nestle’s was made on equipment  which produces gluten ingredients or contains gluten in the ingredients, please contact them at 1-800-225-2270, Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM EST, or via their website: Contact Nestle.

This entry was posted in Safe Gluten-Free Food List, Unsafe Gluten Free Food List and Artilces. Bookmark this blog post.

4 Responses to Is Nestle Gluten Free?

  1. Cheryl H says:

    I’m a GF newbie, last year I met a GF person. I was thinking I could make her some Rice Krispie Treats, but she said no the cereal has malt. When I was at the store I looked at Rice Krispies and the store brand. Both have malt flavor as one of the ingredients. If Nestle’s Crunch has krisp rice cereal, it wouldn’t be GF for that reason.

  2. Jay says:

    I’m kinda’ curious as to why the Nestle’s Crunch bar is not considered gluten-free. If it’s because manufacturing of the product is done on equipment that also manufactures gluten-containing products, perhaps that would be significant to individuals who have a gluten allergy, but not necessarily to an individual who has a gluten sensitivity, or maybe someone who just wants to have a generally healthy diet by going “gluten-free.” Crunch bars have rice crisps and rice flour in the ingredients. I don’t see wheat flour, wheat-, barley-, or rye- anything listed. From that standpoint I would believe that they would be considered “gluten-free” enough for most individuals, but perhaps not for someone with a gluten allergy. I would like to know what the realistic, practical, educated thinking on this would be. Though I am now practicing a gluten-free diet for the sake of good health and possibly have a gluten sensitivity, I do not have a gluten allergy, and I really like Crunch bars from time to time.

  3. Mary R says:

    Already liked Simply Gluten Free on FB.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>