Papa John’s unveiled their new gluten free pizza crust made with ancient grains. However, I couldn’t find the ingredients list anywhere. So, I contacted Papa John’s directly. Papa John’s gluten free pizza crust ingredients are as follows: Continue reading “Papa John’s Gluten Free Pizza Crust Ingredients”
I’m finalizing a list of brands of gluten-free ingredients for every ingredient listed in my upcoming cookbook. It will also be part of this site as a searchable database. I will add to it as opportunities arise. Meanwhile, when I searched for the safest instant espresso powder brand, I was shocked at what I learned. One simple phone call turned into hours of research. Continue reading “Is Instant Espresso Powder (and Coffee) Gluten Free? – What You May Not Know”
I know by reading ingredient labels that ricotta cheese doesn’t contain any gluten. However, I wanted to find a brand that was free of cross-contamination/cross-contact of gluten. I performed several Google searches for “ricotta cheese gluten free”. Then I researched two major brands, and I share the information with you as well as a recipe for gluten-free ricotta cheese. Continue reading “Is Ricotta Cheese Gluten Free?”
Mushroom spores are grown on grains, usually rye. However, they can also be grown on wheat or a combination of grains. This means that they contain a trace amount of gluten. Continue reading “Are Mushrooms Gluten Free?”
I have experienced digestive reactions in some quinoa products, but not others. Since I am often asked, is quinoa gluten free, I thought I would share the most recent study on this very subject. The study was performed in the U.K. by the Division of Diabetes and Nutritional Sciences, Department of Gastroenterology at King’s College London, one of the world’s leading research and teaching universities. Their findings were very interesting, and resolved my confusion on the subject. In Dr. Vikki Petersen’s video (bottom of this page), she further clarifies some things for us. Continue reading “Is Quinoa Gluten Free? Not All Are Created Equal”
I contacted Nestle a couple of weeks ago to find out which of the candies are gluten free. They mailed me an entire list of Nestle’s gluten free products, but it was not updated since December 22, 2011. Today, October 30, 2012, I called them regarding a product that was not listed in their list …
Because brown rice syrup is listed on so many gluten free product labels, you may have come to the conclusion that all rice syrup brands are gluten free. However, some contain barley. The fermentation process often removes the barley, per some manufacturers. If you are gluten intolerant always contact the manufacturer before consumption to check, …
Since Halloween is upon us, I thought you all would appreciate a current list of gluten-free candy. I either contacted the manufacturer or obtained their gluten-free information from their website which I link to below.
If you have been diagnosed with celiac disease, you would do best to eat natural foods, free of chemicals, preservatives, additives and other artificial ingredients, as some of these ingredients are sources of hidden gluten and are unhealthy for us all.
Link Between Celiac Disease and MSG
There is a theory that MSG is unsafe for celiac patients. It certainly has been proven that MSG increases the risk for autism. In addition, it has been discovered that most individuals who report having a reaction to MSG also report a sensitivity to wheat. There are many foods and ingredients that those with celiac disease should not consume. One would think that rice milk would be safe, but all brands are not gluten-free. Read the information below to find out more about unsafe foods for those with celiac individuals and more. Continue reading “Celiac: Foods to Avoid”