Gluten Free Baking Powder Recipe Video

I stumbled across this video when I first went back on my gluten free diet and only had baking powder which contained gluten. It’s wonderful, especially if you run out and happen to have some cream of tartar in the house. Just realize, though, this is not double acting baking powder, just single acting baking powder. They both cause things to rise, but a bit differently.

Gluten Free Grain Free Baking Powder Recipe

51

Yield: Makes as much as you desire

Gluten Free Grain Free Baking Powder Recipe

A homemade gluten free grain free baking powder recipe for use in all your gluten free recipes!

Ingredients:

  • 1 part baking soda
  • 1part potato starch
  • 2 parts cream of tartar

Instructions:

  1. Add all ingredients together; whisk or stir; sift using a small strainer.

Tips

Watch the video

The difference between double and single acting baking powder

Single acting baking powder forms bubbles immediately, and those bubble pop quickly unless you bake the item immediately.

Double acting baking powder make fewer bubbles when first introduced to liquid, but acts mainly once it comes in contact with heat. Therefore, the main action occurs in the oven.

Since this recipe is not mine, I will let you watch the video below for the details of the recipe, but I have listed the suggestioned ingredients below.

What you’ll need

  • cream of tartar
  • baking soda
  • cornstarch or potato starch

You can find gluten-free baking powder in stores. Rumford makes one that is also aluminium-free; Clabber Girl is gluten-free, but not aluminum-free; and Featherweight is a bit more difficult to find, but it is corn-free as well as gluten-free.

Enjoy the video and I hope you find it helpful!

2 Replies to “Gluten Free Baking Powder Recipe Video”

    1. Hi Nancy,

      Rumford, Clabbergirl, Davis and Hearth Club make gluten-free baking soda. I use Rumford because most grocery stores carry it or I make my own.

      When baking soda is made they use a starch to absorb moisture. The starch may be cornstarch (gluten-free), potato starch (gluten-free) or wheat starch (which contains gluten).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enable Notifications    OK No thanks