What Cereals Are Gluten Free?

Are you wondering what cereals are gluten free? Well, gluten free cereals are now available in a multitude of shapes, sizes, textures, and flavors. From Mom & Pop brands to major manufacturers, you’ll find in almost any grocery store you visit. They have gluten free cereals for adults as well as children. Some are certified gluten free, while others just avoid any gluten ingredients. There’s something for every diet, as well.

NEW - Gluten Free Cheerios

Gluten Free Cheerios

UPDATE: Some people with celiac disease have reacted to Cheerios.

The new gluten free cereal on the block is Cheerios! Most of the Gluten Free Cheerios will be exactly the same as their gluten counterparts, but safe for those on a gluten free diet. However, they had to reformulate the Multi Grain Cheerios to remove the wheat and barley. The gluten free version will contain sorghum and millet, instead.

Read about Gluten Free Cheerios on General Mill’s blog.

Cheerios Gluten Free Apple Cinnamon Cereal

Nature’s Path

Nature’s Path offers gluten free cereals for adults and children. The kids’ line is called Envirokids. They’re natural cereals with the shapes, taste and texture of kids’ favorites like Peanut Butter Panda Puffs and Gorilla Munch Corn Puffs. However, they have the all-times faves such as Corn Flakes, but they are sweetened with fruit juice¬†instead of corn syrup or sugar. They also have a healthy line called Qi’a which are packed with superfoods such as seeds. They’re delicious, as well.

Nature’s Path’s gluten free products (they ones with gluten, too) are made one thoroughly cleaned equipment. They also test their products, internally and externally, for gluten. Besides being gluten free, these products are also vegetarian, as well as certified organic and non-GMO verified.

Check out a few of them:

Nature’s Path Organic Whole O’s, Gluten Free Cereal

Nature’s Path Gluten Free Hot Oatmeal Variety Pack

Nature’s Path Gluten Free Granola, Honey Almond

Nature’s Path Gluten Free Hot Oatmeal, Brown Sugar Maple with Ancient Grains

Nature’s Path Organic Sunrise Crunchy Vanilla, Gluten Free

Nature’s Path Gluten Free Sunrise Crunchy Honey Cereal

Nature’s Path Gluten Free Hot Oatmeal, Homestyle

Nature’s Path Organic Corn Flakes, Fruit Juice Sweetened Cereal

Nature’s PathC Qi’a Chia Buckwheat and Hemp Cereal

Kellogg’s Gluten Free¬†Rice Krispies Cereal – UPDATE:¬†Discontinued in the United States; Still Made in Canada

Kellogg’s makes a Gluten Free Rice Krispies cereal. They are also made of brown rice, but do not taste any different than the regular Rice Krispies. A matter of fact, they seem to snap, crackle, pop even louder than I remember.

Be sure to purchase the box that is labeled “gluten free” as they make one variety with gluten.

Post ensures that no gluten cross-contamination will occur as they take steps to prevent it. They also use only gluten-free certified ingredients.

Learn more about Kellogg’s Gluten Free Rice Krispies.

Erewhon Organic Cereals

The only substitute for Cocoa Krispies is Attune’s Gluten Free Cocoa Crispies. As a healthier choice, they use brown rice instead of white rice. They do not add salt, but instead, they add a variety of berries. Their Strawberry flavor contains rice and corn. They make Twice Rice, which consists of soft and crisp brown rice coated with honey and brown rice syrup. If your kids prefer corn flakes, they make them, as well. Their gluten-free cereals are certified gluten-free through the Gluten Intolerance Certification Organization (GFCO). While Erewhon cereals are gluten-free, Attunes also makes other products that contain gluten. All of their products are organic.

Check a few varietes:

Erewhon Crispy Brown Rice Cereal, Gluten Free, Organic

Erewhon Corn Flakes Cereal, Gluten Free, Organic

Erewhon Crispy Brown Rice Cereal with Mixed Berries

Erewhon Gluten Free Rice Twice Cereal

Arrowhead Mills

Arrowhead Mills offers Gluten Free Maple Buckwheat Flakes. They are also Kosher and organic. Picture corn flakes, but instead the flakes are made from buckwheat, which is extremely healthy for you. In addition, they are sweetened with organic sugar, honey, and maple syrup.

Check them out:

Arrowhead Mills Kosher Organic Maple Buckwheat Flakes Cereal Gluten Free

 

Gluten Free Chex Cereal

Chex makes a variety of gluten-free cereals. The rice, corn, and vanilla flavors contain whole grains. The are all free of artificial coloring and flavoring. The sweetest out of all of the varieties are the Chocolate, Cinnamon, Apple Cinnamon and Honey Nut, flavors.

They also offer gluten free instant oats in a variety of flavors.

Chex frequently cleans their processing equipment in order to avoid cross-contamination of gluten.

Check out

Chocolate, Honey Nut, Cinnamon, Apple Cinnamon, Vanilla, Rice, Honey Nut, Maple Brown Sugar Oatmeal, and Oatmeal Variety Pack.

Post Gluten Free Cereals

Cocoa Pebbles, and¬†Fruity Pebbles¬†are both gluten-free. You don’t have to purchase any special box. They only make one version that is naturally free of gluten. Kids usually appreciate this as they don’t have to eat anything “special” apart from their friends.

Post uses only certified gluten-free ingredients. However, the product itself is not certified gluten free.

Special K Gluten Free Cereal

Special K recently released Touch of Brown Sugar Gluten Free Cereal.

Ingredients include: Whole grain brown rice, sugar, whole grain sorghum, milled corn, corn bran, soluble corn fiber, brown sugar syrup, contains 2% or less of salt, honey, dried invert cane syrup, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavor, molasses, BHT for freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Iron (ferric orthophosphate), vitamin C (ascorbic acid), niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin A palmitate, vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), folic acid, vitamin B12, vitamin D3.

Check out this new cereal at Touch of Brown Sugar Gluten Free Cereal.

Glutino Hot Cereals

All of the cereals made by Glutino are gluten-free.¬†Check out their¬†Gluten Free Maple Buckwheat Flakes, Sweetened Rice Flakes, and Gluten Free Steel Cut Oats at Glutino’s website.

All of their products are gluten free certified by the Gluten Free Certification Organization (GFCO).

5 Replies to “What Cereals Are Gluten Free?”

  1. I truly and sincerely do not think that the gluten free Rice Krispies are nearly as good as the regular. They taste very very bland without the malt and I don’t think they did the right changes to make them taste the same. I’m guessing that this is why they we’re discontinued in the US

  2. They may be safe for those on a gluten free diet, but not necessarily for those with Celiac Disease. Big difference for those who need a certified gluten free cereal.

  3. General Mills and Kelloggs both have cereals that are labeled gluten free and are not. BHT and BHA are additives that the FDA does not have to classify as gluten when in fact they are and they are in all of these cereals. Cheerios, Chex and Rice Crispies are not in fact Gluten Free despite the label.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.