The first time I saw Trader Joe’s gluten free pasta (brown rice pasta: fusilli, penne, and spaghetti), I never noticed that it stated it was gluten free. I love their penne pasta! At the top of the package it was prominently labeled organic, wheat-free, cholesterol-free and sodium-free, but not gluten-free. It is even certified organic and certified Kosher. I was concerned that it may contain cross-contamination and did not want to recommend it to my clients and readers who have a high gluten intolerance. However, I gave it a try and was very pleased with the texture, flavor and reasonable price.
I emailed Trader Joe’s and asked whether it was gluten-free and more, and by the next day I noticed the gluten-free symbol (a “g” with a wheat sprig at the top of the letter) at the bottom right-hand corner on the front of the package.
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to contact us, and please accept my apology for our delay in response time. We experienced an unexpectedly high volume of calls and emails this holiday season, and we are still playing catch-up – but that is no excuse.
Trader Joe’s brown rice pastas (fusilli, penne, and spaghetti) are all made in a facility that contains no gluten whatsoever, which is why we feel safe in making the claim that these products aren’t just “no gluten ingredient” products but, in fact, “gluten-free.” We also test, just to back up that claim further.
We hope this helps, and we hope you enjoy the pasta, Carla!
Thank you very much, Trader Joe’s, for Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Pasta! It’s such a high-quality, gluten-free product. Thanks for keeping us gluten-free safe!