Last Updated on
Many spice blends like garam masala (Indian spice) and allspice, often contain gluten. If you’re not sure about the gluten status of a spice blend, make your own. Garam masala is best when you make it using roasted, whole spices which have been ground, but the easiest and fastest way is to use prepared ground spices. That’s what I use. Use your homemade gluten free garam masala in recipes like my Gluten Free Chicken Korma or Gluten Free Beef Korma Recipe.
McCormick, a spice manufacturer in the United States, made it perfectly when I contact them a couple of years ago that their single spices are gluten free. So, that means that any of the blended spices are not. Most companies use an anti-caking ingredient in the spice blends that may contain gluten.
This recipe is available to everyone, not just paid members.
Be sure to use spices that you know are gluten free.