Every St. Patrick’s Day, millions of people eat out and drink out. If you are gluten intolerant, it makes it difficult to do so, especially with Irish spirit. If you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease and you do not tolerate alcohol made from gluten grains, see the information below. The newest recommendation is for manufacturers to not label their alcohols gluten free if they are derived from gluten grains. Read more about it at Gluten Free Alcohol Defined. Meanwhile, I have you covered. Read the below and find a recipe for an alternative Bailey’s Irish Cream.
Green Beer: Be sure to drink only beef labeled gluten free. Check this list: Gluten Free Beer List. In addition, be certain that your green beer contains only food coloring that is gluten free such as Americolor or McCormick’s.
Irish Coffee: Whiskey is no longer considered gluten free or safe for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance as it is made from a gluten grain. Read more about it at Gluten Free Alcohol Defined: Then check out my Gluten Free Irish Coffee Recipe.
Bailey’s Irish Cream: Bailey’s is made with whiskey; therefore, it cannot be labeled gluten free.
Irish Car Bomb: Usually an Irish Car Bomb is made of Guiness Irish beer, Jameson Irish Whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream You add half of a glass of beer to a tall glass. Add a shot glass of a mixture of Irish Cream and Irish whiskey to the glass of beer and drink quickly before it foams over. Make a vodka version instead. Here’s my recipe for Homemade Gluten Free Irish Cream. You can also use vodka to substitute the whiskey in the Irish Car Bomb.