Honey Containing Malt Sweetener

Last Updated on

We would all assume that all honey is gluten-free, but on March 11, 2011 the The U.S. Department of Justice announced in a press release that they seized 10,560 gallons of counterfeit honey from Hong Kong, falsely labeled honey made in Thailand, but was actually made up of mainly compound malt sweetener.  The sweetener was originally shipped to Wisconsin in 2009 and then eventually shipped to the Mid West with Chinese custom stickers removed.  The investigation was formed by the U.S. Attorney’s Office in Oregon, the U.S. Attorney’s Office in Chicago and the Department of Homeland Security.

Honey

Malt contains barley which is not allowed on a gluten-free diet and could create much illness among those with celiac disease or highly gluten intolerant.

Ad
[showmyads]

Ensure you purchase honey from a trusted source.  Locally honey is the best.  If you can get your hands on any, you’ll be glad you did if you suffer from pollen allergies.  Local honey contains the pollen from your local area.  Consuming a little bit at a time can raise your tolerance to your local pollens, and prevent allergies, or at least lessen your reaction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.