Gluten Free Products List

Q. What can you eat on a gluten free diet?

I began compiling this gluten free product list a few weeks ago. Though it is not completed, and never will be, I thought I would publish it before it is outdated, though I’ve included many links for you to double check. I will continue to add additional items each week as I run across them. I hope you find this list useful.

These items were gluten-free the last time I checked. Always check labels and/or with manufacturers before consuming.  Somehow all of the links disappeared from this list. I am slowly adding them back. It is always best to check links to find the latest information.

Ad

You may be keeping up with my post, “Celiac: Foods to Avoid“. I will continue to update that list as I think of more items or as I run across them online. But enough already with what you cannot eat! Let’s move on to answering the question, “What can you eat on a gluten-free diet!”

Cross contamination

Though some products may be labeled gluten-free, you should be aware that it may be made in a factory which processes other products that do contain gluten.  The new labeling regulations requiring no more than 20-ppm gluten in a gluten-free product, the laws do not go into effect until 2012, though many manufacturers are already following the new rules. Even so, there may be that less than 20-ppm (parts per million) of gluten. If you are highly sensitive to gluten look for the certified gluten-free product symbols. GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) (aka GIG: Gluten Intolerance Group of North America), “assures that the product contains less than 10-ppm gluten (5-ppm gliadin)…” See the GFCO FAQs and their certified gluten-free label below.

If you see the CSA (Celiac Sprue Association) logo you can be sure the product has tested below 5-ppm. See their label below. Also check out their Gluten-Free Certification Requirements.

Celiac Sprue Association logo

 

 

 

UPDATE June 22, 2011: The newest gluten-free certification program is delivered by the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, (NFCA) along with Quality Assurance International (QAI). They test for less than 10 ppm. See their label below.

 

 

 

Baking: Flours, Grains, Starches and More

If you are interested in only certified gluten-free products, definitely use the GFCO’s (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) searchable database.

Gluten Free Product List

  • Tapioca starch/flour (also called cassava  or yucca flour)
  • Potato flour
  • Potato starch
  • Cornstarch
  • Amaranth and amaranth flour
  • White rice flour
  • Sweet white rice flour
  • Brown rice flour
  • Rice bran
  • Sorghum flour / Sweet sorghum flour / Milo Flour
  • Buckwheat flour
  • Almond flour
  • Chestnut flour
  • Hazelnut flour
  • Pistachio flour
  • Peanut flour
  • Millet flour
  • Teff and Teff flour (teff can be used as a cereal)
  • Quinoa and quinoa flour
  • Soy flour – though I do not recommend anyone use soy products, as they contain an element which reacts similar to estrogen.
  • Coconut flour
  • Oats and oat flour (only ones labeled gluten-free and pure) See Bob’s Red Mill and Cream Hill Estates
  • PrOatina by Montana Gluten-Free (some celiacs with an oat intolerance may tolerate their oat products)
  • Timtana (Timothy-grass)
  • Chickpea flour
  • Fava bean flour
  • Garbanzo bean flour
  • Garfava flour (blend of garbanzo, fava and sometime romano bean)
  • Romano bean flour (not easily obtainable in the U.S.)
  • Lentil flour
  • Mesquite flour
  • Corn flour
  • Chia flour
  • Oat bran (only ones labeled gluten-free)
  • Corn meal (watch for cross contamination)
  • Flaxseed meal (mixed with hot water makes a great dairy-free egg replacer)
  • Xanthan gum (usually contains corn) See corn-free xanthan gum.
  • Guar gum
  • Arrowroot
  • Eggs (casein-free and dairy-free) I recommend organic eggs.
  • Expandex (modified tapiooa starch) – possibly chemically processed
  • Methyl cellulose (chemically modified cellulose) – often used as a thickener or gluten substitute in baked goods
  • Yeast (and some brewer’s yeast, but not when from beer)
  • Vanilla extract and vanilla flavoring (distilling removes all gluten, as is with alcohol)
  • Nestle’s chocolate morsels: milk chocolate and semi-sweet
  • See Hershey’s Gluten Free Products List
  • Baking powder: Rumford’s, Clabber Girl (contains aluminum), Bob’s Red Mill , Davis (contains aluminum), or (Hain Featherweight is corn-free)
  • Baking Soda
  • Ener-G: Egg Replacer – (for those also dairy-free) Haven’t tried it myself.  Read reviews and suggestion here.
  • Egg white powder (alhumen / albumin) (El Peto Products has one that is gluten-free)
  • Hershey’s Cocoas: Natural Unsweetened, Special Dark/Dutch Process – Hershey’s does not publish a gluten-free list, as ingredients change often.
  • Rodelle Dutch Processed Cocoa
  • Dolce de leche: Hershey’s
  • Tofu (plain)
  • Gelatin
  • Agar agar (natural gelatin substitute)
  • All cooking oils
  • Whey and whey proteins, but are not dairy-free
  • Betty Crocker’s Gluten-free Bisquick
  • extracts such as: vanilla, almond, etc.
  • Duncan Hines Creamy Home-Style Frosting
  • Comstock by Pie Fillings and Wilderness Pie Fillings (by Duncan Hines) (reverified by phone 1-800-362-9834 on 4/17/2013)
  • Food coloring: Select Tea (natural), Nature’s Flavors (natural), AmeriColor.

Suggested brands include: Bob’s Red Mill (all non-GMO, including cornstarch), Authentic FoodsArrowhead Mills (organic)

Condiments

Olives:

Lindsay Olives (gluten-free & casein-free; contains corn as color stabilizer).

Tropical Tradition olives

Cooking Sprays

  • Pam (all, except for Pam Baking and Olive Oil Spray)
  • Safeway brand olive oil spray

Dips

  • Hidden Valley Ranch Dry Packages

Gluten-Free Sweeteners

  • sugar
  • evaporated cane juice (like sugar, but less processed)
  • Karo corn syrups: light and dark
  • stevia
  • honey
  • molasses (gluten-free brands)
  • pure maple syrup, Log Cabin’s All Natural Pancake Syrup
  • dates, fruit, apple sauce, pear sauce, etc.
  • Xylitol (supposed be great for your teeth!)
  • Susta – natural sweetener
  • Artificial sweeteners such as Aspartame and NutraSweet, though I do not recommend them.

Boxed and Instant Gluten Free Products

Betty Crocker Potato Buds

Gluten-Free Milk and Milk Substitutes

See articles entitled, Cow’s Milk and Milk Substitutes and Is Rice Dream Gluten-free?

Gluten-Free Breads, Tortillas, Buns, etc.

  • Udi’s – great gluten-free products! (see French toast photo)
  • Rudi’s Check out this photo of my sandwich using Rudi’s Original Bread
  • Ener-G - I’ve tried their Gluten-free Light Tapioca Loaf – very light.  They have a lot of gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free and Kosher Certified products.
  • Kinnikinnick - New soft breads, hot dog buns, hamburger buns, yeast-free tapioca loaf, English muffins and cookies.

Gluten-Free Cereal

  • Bakery On Main’s Granola
  • All Pebbles cereals and treats EXCEPT Marshmallow Pebbles
  • Gluten Free Rice Krispies (They also make one that it is not gluten-free.)
  • Post Pebbles – cocoa, fruity and marshmallow “Gluten Free”
  • Chex: Honey Nut Chex, Chocolate Chex, Cinnamon Chex, Rice Chex, and Corn Chex
  • Glutino Gluten Free Cereal
  • Nature’s Path Gluten Free Cereals, including Envirokidz
  • Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free Hot Cereals
  • Erewhon Gluten Free Cereal, including cocoa crispy brown rice cereal
  • Barbara’s Bakery Puffins Gluten Free Cereal: Only their Multigrain and Honey Rice
  • Udi’s Granola

Gluten-Free Beans

Beans you purchase in bags and cook from scratch are always gluten-free. If purchasing a canned bean it may contain gluten as a sauce thickener.  Please read labels.

  • La Preferida Black Beans and Black Refried Beans

Gluten-Free Condiments

  • Distilled Vinegars – Many manufacturers state that anything distilled is gluten-free, as the gluten is naturally removed, but other manufacturers actually label “some” of their products gluten-free. Some Heinz vinegar are labeled gluten-free. See their gluten-free vinegar list at the bottom of their page for U.S. and Canadian products. Rice vinegars are usually gluten-free. Malt vinegars are never gluten-free.
  • Soy Sauce: San-J’s Organic Gluten-free Tamari Sauce (organic and low-sodium), Kikkoman’s (naturally brewed), Braggs Liquid Aminos
  • Worcestershire Sauce: Lea & Perrins “The Original” and “Reduced Sodium” – ones made in the U.S., not Canada
  • Ketchup (see Heinz gluten-free products)
  • Mustard (Kraft’s Grey Poupon’s mustard contain gluten-free vinegar; and French’s is also gluten-free.)

Gluten-Free Salad Dressings

  • Ken’s Foods Lite Accents Salad Dressing, except for “Asian” which contains soy sauce
  • See my Gluten Free Salad Dressing Brands List on Answers.com.

Gluten-Free Pasta and Noodles

  • Tinkyada pasta
  • Jovial pasta
  • Schar pasta
  • Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Pasta (made in a gluten-free facility and tested.)
  • Shirataki noodles (Zero net carbohydrates and zero calories, meaning the fiber outweighs the carbs)
  • Soba – Japanese noodles

Gluten-Free Mexican

Asian Sauces

Choy Sun by Lee Kum Kee oyster sauce

PF Chang’s oyster sauce

PF Chang’s Thai Sweet Chili Sauce and many other GF Asian sauces

Lee Kum Kee’s Panda Brand Oyster Sauce

Wok Mei hoisin sauce

Premier Japan hoisin sauce

Gluten Free Sauces

Marinara Sauce: Prego’s Marina Sauce and Colavita Organic Spicy Garlic Marinara Sauce

Continued on Page 2

Visit Carla’s Gluten Free Online Store. In collaboration with Massachusetts General Hospital, 50% of all proceeds are donated to their Center for Celiac Research and Treatment.

This entry was posted in Safe Gluten-Free Food List. Bookmark this blog post.

24 Responses to Gluten Free Products List

  1. brenda says:

    Thank you this site is very helpful…..grrrrr can’t wait to feel better

  2. Jessie says:

    So glad I found this site, Just diagnosed and almost lost.

  3. Adrienne Testa says:

    Thank you for this list. Fortunately I do not have a gluten allergy (that I know of) lol but I do want to make some changes in my diet. I was wondering what the best flour substitute for baking would be? As the holidays approach I would like to make some gluten free cookies this year. Thanks again!

  4. Duane Schweitzer says:

    Wow Carla if you not married, I’m available…:-). By far the most comprehensive Gluten-Free website I’ve viewed to date. Thank you, my wife has just recently discovered she is wheat intolerant, eho knew! Anyway we’ll be using this recipes a many. Dinner is at 6:00 pm

  5. Anna says:

    Dont forget to add Quaker brand GRITS and Cream of Rice from Nabisco brand to your list of gluten free hot cereals.

  6. Julie says:

    Excuse me, but the Allergen Warning on the side of Great Value Instant Potatoes DOES list WHEAT along with like 10 other possible contaminants. As far as I am concerned, this makes this product unsafe. MOST GREAT VALUE PRODUCTS list wheat as an ALLERGEN WARNING. I was most upset when I found this out. I just went Gluten Free 3 weeks ago, I’m still learning, but the biggest lesson I am learning is that Great Value must be thoroughly checked. I don’t understand how the “trace amounts” issue thing works, but I do know that if it is enough to be listed as a warning then its enough for me to say NO to.

  7. Carrie Rowbotham says:

    Just double checking about Philadelphia cream cheese for my cheesecakes-absolutely Gluten-free? I’m very new at this and a little overwhelmed…LOL! Thanks GFRB staff…love your site. xoxo ;-)

  8. Michelle says:

    You are a life saver!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>