Gluten Free Cheese Dip

This gluten free cheese dip recipe is different than the typical cheese sauce you use for potatoes or broccoli. (That recipe, you can find here.) This new recipe is for dipping. I’m working on a new soft gluten free breadsticks recipe for my cookbook and decided to make a cheese sauce with which to test them out.

Months ago I ordered some sodium citrate which is the key to making easy cheese sauce without being concerned about it getting clumpy. After watching the member of The Chew (food TV show) make cheese sauce using sodium citrate, it served as a good reminder.

I tried their recipe; however, it was way too salty for my tastes. I’ve developed my own recipe that I think you’ll enjoy. Be sure to view the Tips section, as well.

Cheese dip is a perfect recipe for March Madness or other sports parties. This goes perfectly with my Soft Twisted Gluten-Free Breadsticks Recipe. (You don’t have to twist them.)

Gluten Free Cheese Dip


Yield: Makes appx 1 1/2 cups

Gluten Free Cheese Dip

The easiest way to make gluten free cheese dip without the hassles. It turns out smooth and delicious.


  • 10 oz. cold gluten free beer (Redbridge*) (or water)
  • 3/4 teaspoon (7 grams) sodium citrate
  • 3-1/2 cups (9.1 oz.) Mild Cheddar Cheese (or Monterey Jack), shredded
  • 1 cup (2.6 oz.) Mozzarella Cheese, shredded
  • Gluten free hot sauce (optional)
  • Gluten Free Pizza Sauce (optional)


  1. Add only 1 cup of beer to a non-stick saucepan. (You can add more later if you desire more of a sauce rather than a dip.)
  2. Toss both cheeses together; and set aside.
  3. Add the sodium citrate and stir until it dissolves. Cook over medium heat until the mixture is hot.
  4. Working in batches, add a handful of cheese at a time to the saucepan. Using a wooden spoon, stir after each addition until the cheese melts and the mixture is smooth. Serve immediately.
  5. If desired, thin with additional beer and/or add some hot sauce, to taste. If serving this sauce with soft gluten free breadsticks, consider adding some pizza sauce.


*Redbridge beer contains corn syrup. Therefore, avoid it if allergic to corn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.