It took a bit of research to create this Asian gluten free barbecue sauce. Traditionally, an Asian barbecue sauce recipe will call for hoisin sauce, which is made up partly of soy beans and soy sauce, which usually is not gluten free, and certainly not soy free. Wanting one that is soy free is what brought me create a portion of this recipe. The main reason is that I am developing a gluten free egg rolls recipe, and needed to get all my ducks in a row. I planned on using barbecued pork as one of the ingredients, but wanted more of an authentic Asian gluten free barbecue sauce. Due to my allergies, it is taking a couple of gluten free recipes just to get started on the egg rolls, but if you’re not a soy-free dieter you may use store bought items to make it easier. And I discovered that tomato or ketchup is not a traditional ingredient, though you may find it used in some recipes. Stay tuned in for more on the egg rolls soon, if all turns out well. But definitely watch for my Chinese barbecue pork recipe. For now, I hope you enjoy this Chinese soy free gluten free barbecue sauce. Along with a little gluten free chicken broth, it’s going to make some awesome barbecued pork. It’s time to get those crockpots out!
An Asian style barbecue sauce recipe with soy-free options, all homemade!
- 1 1/2 teaspoons tapioca or corn starch (You may use potato starch, but it tends to thin when reheated.)
- 2 Tablespoons filtered water
- 1 Tablespoon honey
- 1 Tablespoon white or rice vinegar
- 6 Tablespoons gluten-free barbecue sauce (see recipe links below) (or brown sugar when cooking on stovetop)
- 2 teaspoons garlic, minced or paste
- 1 Tablespoon ginger, minced or paste
- 1 teaspoon sesame oil
- 1/8 teaspoon chili pepper flakes (If you don't like it a little spicy, add less.)
- 1/8 teaspoons freshly ground pepper
- pinch of ground cloves
- pinch of cinnamon
- pinch of fine sea salt
- Mix together the water and starch.
- Add all remaining ingredients to a bowl and whisk thoroughly.
- Use to marinate beef, pork or chicken or cook over medium heat and use as a dipping sauce.
Note: Some bottled sauces and broths may contain gluten, soy or yeast. Please read labels well if you are yeast-free.