HTML tutorial

Gluten Free Basil Cream Sauce

This basil cream sauce recipe is lower in fat than those made with whipping cream or evaporated milk. Yet it was so yummy on my ravioli. Basil cream sauce is naturally gluten free, however, if using a commercially grated cheese, you’ll need to ensure that is is gluten free. Make it dairy free by using milk and cheese substitutes. My husband is not a fan of cream sauces, but with the basil flavor, he even liked it on gluten free raviolis.

Gluten Free Basil Cream Sauce

51

Yield: Approximately 2 cups

Gluten Free Basil Cream Sauce

A creamy gluten free basil sauce perfect for pasta or raviioli.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tablespoons butter, pureed pine nuts or almond butter
  • 3 Tablespoons yellow onion, chopped finely
  • 3/4 teaspoon garlic, grated or minced
  • 1 ½ Tablespoons chopped fresh basil
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground thyme
  • 15 turns fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon potato starch (or cornstarch)
  • 1 ½ cups milk or dairy-free alternative
  • ¼ cup + 2 Tablespoons grated Parmesan & Romano cheese (Kraft brand is gluten free) (or use dairy-free alternative cheese - Diaya brand melts almost like real cheese.)

Instructions:

  1. Melt butter in a skillet over medium high heat.
  2. Add onion and cook until tender, about 8 minutes.
  3. Add basil, garlic, thyme, and pepper; cook until you smell the aroma of the basil and garlic.
  4. In a small container, mix about 2 tablespoons milk with the potato starch; Add it and the remaining milk to the above mixture; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Add pepper and grated cheese; stir until cheese is melted and sauce is creamy.

Tips

Add additional milk, if needed. Once cooled in the refrigerate it may thin a bit more if using potato starch.

Add additional cheese until it reaches your desire flavor.

2 Replies to “Gluten Free Basil Cream Sauce”

    1. Hi Zylvia,

      I’m not sure what ingredients you find non-vegan, especially in this recipe. To help clarify items for you I have added a suggested vegan cheese: Daiya brand. As far as the milk in this recipe, rice milk or even a homemade nut milk would be considered vegan. Let me know if you have any particular questions.

      Carla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enable Notifications    OK No thanks