I needed some gluten free teriyaki sauce and there was none in the house. What’s a girl to do? I gathered some of the traditional ingredients in teriyaki sauce and added a bit of pineapple juice for some extra nutrients. The base is tamari sauce. It is wonderful that San J makes gluten-free soy sauce, actually tamari sauce, because it contains no gluten. Tamari is a light soy sauce. All tamari sauces are made with more soy beans than regular soy sauce. Soy sauce is made from wheat and soy beans; therefore, those on a gluten free diet use Tamari. [Update: nowadays, there is such a thing as gluten free soy sauce.]
Meanwhile, this gluten free teriyaki sauce made a delicious marinade for my flank steak. Enjoy!
Gluten Free Teriyaki Sauce Recipe
- 1/4 cup of San J's low-sodium tamari sauce or gluten free soy sauce
- 1/4 filtered water
- 1 Tablespoon pineapple juice, from can (Dole in 100% Juice)
- 2 Tablespoons agave syrup
- 1 teaspoon pure sesame oil
- 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
- 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
- 2 teaspoons onion powder
- Mix all ingredients together. Use for marinade or atop your favorite dishes.
- If you wish a thicker sauce you can boil it. In a separate container add 1/2 teaspoon of corn or tapioca starch to 1 tablespoon of water and pour into the boiling sauce and stir immediately. It will thicken up in no time. Refrigerate any leftovers.
Most spices are gluten free, but check with manufacturers to avoid cross-contamination. McCormick's is all gluten free.
© Copyrighted 2009 - 2016. Wilkins Publishers. All rights reserved. All content, photos and images are copyrighted by us or their respective owners. You must obtain permission by their owners before using any of them.