Gluten Free Soy Free Soy Sauce Substitute

It’s difficult enough finding a gluten free soy sauce, let alone a gluten free soy free soy sauce. One does exist, though. South River Miso makes a gluten free soy free soy sauce substitute from chickpeas, Miso Tamari, chickpea flavor. It is supposed to be so good that they limit your purchase quantity because it takes at least 3 months to make. Their products are unpasteurized, living foods, rich in enzymes and beneficial microorganisms. They start shipping this year on September 15, 2011. I still need to contact them to find out if they avoid cross-contamination, though, as I see they make a barley miso, as well. I’ll call them and update this page when I find out, hopefully today or early next week. Meanwhile, you can make your own gluten free soy free soy sauce substitute.

Ad
UPDATE: I called South River Miso and they said that they first make the miso in a wooden vat. They use that miso in their various products and that the tamari miso never touches the barley (gluten) miso, though it is made in the same facility. They believe the chances are very low of cross-contamination. I enlightened them on the various methods of testing and gluten-free certification.

Most soy sauce substitute recipes contain beef broth. For those that do not know, bouillon cubes are forbidden on the gluten-free diet, as they contain gluten. However, there are gluten-free broths that can be purchased, but because they are usually made with
processed salt, rather than sea salt or Hymalian sea salt (which is healthier for you), I chose not to use them in my recipe, but fresh broth. Feel free to use either, though. You can even use vegetable broth for vegetarian or vegan diets. Enjoy this recipe and being soy-free!

Gluten Free Soy Free Soy Sauce

Rating: 41

Yield: a little less than 1/2 cup

Gluten Free Soy Free Soy Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup gluten-free chicken or beef broth* (or vegetable broth for vegans and vegetarians) (low-sodium, if desired)
  • 1 teaspoon rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dark unsulphured molasses
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon ginger paste (depends upon how spicy you like it)
  • 1/8 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder (or 1/2 teaspoon fresh garlic paste (garlic minced and smeared into a paste - Alternate both until a paste is formed.) (or use store bough paste)
  • 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon sea salt

Instructions:

  1. Add all the above ingredients to a small sauce pan and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat to medium and cook until it reduces to about 1/2 cup. I ended up with between 1/3 and 1/2 cup after cooking for 45 minutes. (If using fresh ingredients, strain, if desired.)
  3. Allow to cool completely and store in an air-tight jar, at room temperature for several days or refrigerate for longer use. Canning jars work well for storing, or you use an oil or vinegar container.

Tips

* Many store-bought broths contain yeast extracts, therefore, if you're yeast-free use homemade broth or check the labels carefully. Most bouillon cubes contain soy, therefore it is advised not to use cubes, or check labels. Herb-Ox and Better Than Bouillon contain soy.

Using beef broth, versus chicken broth, creates a darker sauce and better flavor. If you wish a thicker sauce add a tiny bit of starch (potato, tapioca or corn) to a bit of water and stir in.

http://glutenfreerecipebox.com/gluten-free-soy-free-soy-sauce/

This entry was posted in Casein-Free, Corn-Free, Gluten Free Condiments Recipes, Gluten Free Recipes, Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Recipes, Gluten-Free Dairy-Free and Egg-Free Recipes, Gluten-Free Egg-Free Recipes, Gluten-Free Yeast-Free Recipes, Low Carb, Low-Fat Gluten Free Recipes, Refined Sugar-Free, Sauces, Soy-Free, Substitutions, Sugar-Free, Vegan Gluten Free Recipes, Vegetarian. Bookmark this blog post.

5 Responses to Gluten Free Soy Free Soy Sauce Substitute

  1. Mary Ann says:

    I use raw coconut aminos by Coconut Secret for all my recipes calling for soy sauce. Lower in sodium, gf, df, and non-gmo. The taste is just like soy sauce to me. Available at health food stores and on line.

  2. Renee says:

    Thank you for this recipe. I am GF, vegan and soy free. I will have to try this. Never heard of ginger paste. I am guess the health food store would have it. Where do you get yours?

    Thx again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>