Whether serving a crowd or just a few people, nachos are always a big hit. With this gluten free nachos recipe you can add your favorite toppings, from olives to jalapeno peppers, from sour cream to guacamole. Of course, a good cheese sauce is a must. You can either add cheese and melt in the oven or microwave, or make a homemade cheese sauce. If you wish to kick it up a notch, add chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder. Yummy deliciousness! – even when made dairy-free. Enjoy!
1/2 to 3/4 cup cheddar cheese or your favorite cheese, shredded (Daiya brand* is dairy-free/vegan.) (or Gluten Free Cheese Sauce with optional chili, onion, and garlic powder, to taste
For the Avocado Topping
1/2 avocado, peeled and pitted
1/4 to 1/3 cup FAGE Greek Yogurt (or dairy-free alternative)
Gluten free chipotle sauce (I use Bufalo brand.)
Splash of white vinegar (I use Heinz.)
Dash of garlic powder
For the Nachos
Scramble up the ground beef in a skillet until thoroughly cooked; or add leftover ground beef to skillet.
If using onion, add to the skillet and saute until translucent.
Add water and seasonings; stir. Saute for about 5 minutes.
On a plate, add several tortilla chips; don't worry about arranging the outside ones, just yet.
If using, warm the beans and add to chips in a circle, allowing room for beef in the middle.
Add beef to the middle. (Or mix the beans and beef together prior to adding them over the chips.)
Top with diced green chiles, onion, peppers, tomatoes and/or olives, if using.
Arrange larger tortilla chips to the outside edges. (Or you can top with cheese then vegetables.)
Top with cheese.
Microwave on a low to medium setting until cheese melts. (Or make it in a oven proof dish and place under broiler for a few seconds/minutes.)
For the Avocado Topping:
Mash 1/2 an avocado.
Mix in about 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (or sour cream), 10 drops of chipotle sauce, sprinkle of garlic powder and splash of vinegar.
Scoop onto top of nachos.
I read that Rosarita refried beans contains distilled vinegar which may be derived from wheat or corn, but that the distilling process removes any gluten. Because of that reason they can not be labeled gluten free.
If you use Daiya brand cheese this recipe is no longer soy-free, but is dairy free.