Gluten Free Worcestershire Sauce (Corn-Free Tomato-Free)

Though you can purchase gluten-free and tomato-free Worcestershire sauce such as Lea & Perrins The Original or Reduced Sodium, but finding a corn-free version is very difficult. At least I haven’t had any luck finding one. For my readers with corn allergies, I thought they would appreciate a gluten free Worcestershire sauce recipe that was corn-free. You can increase the various ingredients below to meet your tastes. Enjoy!

Gluten Free Worcestershire Sauce (Corn-Free Tomato-Free)

51

Yield: Makes approximately 12 oz.

Gluten Free Worcestershire Sauce (Corn-Free Tomato-Free)

A homemade gluten-free, corn-free, tomato-free Worcestershire sauce recipe. Know what you're eating!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cooking oil
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced or grated
  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup unsulphurated molasses
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh grated ginger or ginger paste (less for less heat)
  • 1 large medjool date, peeled and chopped (or 1 Tablespoon date paste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon concentrated gluten free hickory smoke seasoning (Wright's)
  • 1/3 teaspoon black pepper
  • Pinch of ground cloves

Instructions:

  1. Saute onion and garlic in a preoiled and preheated skillet on medium heat; add onions and garlic; saute until translucent; add remaining ingredients; bring it to a boil; lower heat to simmer; cook until reduced to 1 1/2 cups, stirring occasionally.
  2. Remove from heat; pour into your food processor or blender, or use a handheld blender right in the pan; puree until smooth; strain, if desired; cover and store refrigerated.

Tips

Feel free to add additional amounts of any of the above ingredients to suit your tastes.

6 Replies to “Gluten Free Worcestershire Sauce (Corn-Free Tomato-Free)”

  1. Would you happen to know how long this might keep in the fridge? Also, do you think this would be okay to freeze this?

    1. Jane,

      I kept mine in on the counter in a vinegar/oil container with a tiny open hole at the top for about one month. The high salt content acts as a natural preservative. I have never refrigerated it, and I would think freezing should be fine.

      Good luck,
      Carla

    1. Donna,

      Kitchen Bouquet is gluten free. The makers of Kitchen Bouquet always list gluten containing ingredients on their labels. I had called them about a year ago and called them again today. Of course, they based the information that they provided me was on the barcode that I provide them.

      Carla

  2. Thanks so much. I am gluten free, my daughter has issues with tomatoes, and my son is allergic to fish and seafood. This works for all of us! Wow! Can’t wait to try it!

  3. Thank you so VERY VERY much for this recipe. Not only am I gluten free, I am also allergic to seafood, and this recipe does not use anchovies. I cannot wait to try it. Love you forever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.